Churches of Revelation & End Times
February 2019
5. Sardis is prince of joy, the dead church (Revelation 3:1-2, 3-4, 5-6). Jesus is He that has the seven Spirits of God, and the seven stars. A few that have not defiled their garments, walk with Jesus. Those who remember what they received, hold fast and repent are clothed in white raiment, have their names written in the book of life and Jesus confesses their name before the Father and His angels.

Philadelphia is brotherly love, the faithful church (Revelation 3:7-8, 9-10, 11-12, 13). Jesus is He that is holy, true and has the key to the door. Despite little strength, they have kept God's World and have not denied the name of Jesus. If they hold fast, they are given an open door and are kept from the hour of trial to test the world. Those faithful will be pillars in God's temple and written the name of God, the new Jerusalem and Jesus' new name.

Laodicea is lay people, the lukewarm church (Revelation 3:14-16, 17, 18-19, 20-22). Jesus is the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God. Hear His voice, open the door so He comes in and eats with them. Those who repent and are zealous will sit with Jesus and God the Father in heaven.

Seven Periods of the Church Age

The seven churches of Revelation are prophetic and describe seven sequential periods of the Church Age that begins at Pentecost (6th of Sivan). On the 1st of Elul Moses returns for a second forty days to replace the broken tablets. The Jews have forty days of repentance called Teshuvah to prepare for the high holy days. The shofar is sounded during the thirty days of Elul. God judges the world from Trumpets to Atonement (1st-10th of Tishri). See Fall Feasts.

This know, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away (2 Timothy 3:1-2, 5).
The Revelation of Jesus Christ was written to seven first-century churches in the province of Asia Minor (Turkey). God is personally involved in the lives of His people so He reviews the spiritual condition of His churches. Through the Bible, prayer and a local church, the Holy Spirit helps us grow in our relationship with God so we can minister as a part of the body of Christ. Revelation is used to evaluate the health of present-day Christian churches. Prophetically, the churches are seven sequential periods of the Church Age.

I am Alpha and Omega, the first and the last. What you see, write in a book, and send it unto the seven churches which are in Asia; unto Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamos, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea (Revelation 1:11).

In Revelation 2-3, each critique starts with a description of Jesus Christ. The local church is given strong and/or weak points to evaluate their spiritual health. The key to growth is to focus on Jesus Christ and then allow the Holy Spirit to guide us through changes we need to make. Everyone that is faithful to God is promised a specific blessing.
1. Ephesus is desirable, the apostolic church (Revelation 2:1-2, 3-5, 6-7). Jesus is He that holds the seven stars in his right hand, who walks in the midst of the seven golden candlesticks. If they remember, repent and return to their first love, they will eat of the tree of life in the middle of paradise.

Smyrna is myrrh, the persecuted church (Revelation 2:8-9, 10-11). Jesus is the first and the last, which was dead, and is alive. Be faithful unto death and a crown of life will be given. Those who do not fear suffering will not be hurt by the second death.

Pergamum is elevation of power, the compromised church (Revelation 2:12-13, 14-15, 16-17). Jesus is He which has the sharp double edged sword. Those who repent of the false teaching of Balaam and teach the truth are given hidden manna and a white stone with a new name written on it.

Thyatira is sacrifice of labor, the corrupt church (Revelation 2:18-19, 20-21, 22-23, 24-26, 27-29). Jesus is the Son of God, who has eyes like a flame of fire and feet like fine brass. Those who hold to true doctrine and free from idolatry will rule the nations with Jesus during the Millennium and be given the morning star, Jesus Christ.
Seven Churches
Laodicea is the seventh and last church period. The church is lukewarm and trusts in wealth instead of God. The trumpet blasts wake up people so they first turn to God for salvation. Then Christians minister in local churches. God reconfigures the world's political, religious and economic systems in preparation for the Tribulation. The Laodicean period starts at ~1900 and ends at the Rapture (1st of Tishri).

Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober. For God has not appointed us to wrath, but to obtain salvation by our Lord Jesus Christ (1 Thessalonians 5:6, 9).

The book of Revelation is not sequential but a spiral of parallel events that have shorter and shorter timespans until the return of Jesus Christ. Many events begin in the Church Age or Tribulation and end at the Second Coming. Since we are about one hundred years into the Laodicean period, we as Christian are able to see horses on the run and trumpets sounding before the seven years of Tribulation begins. Wake up Laodicean church!

References: 21st Century Revelation: World Wars, Iraq Wars & End Wars - Chapter 11: The Feast of Trumpets, Chapter 19: Church Age & End Times, Chapter 22: Keys to the Trumpets
Churches of Revelation Map
World Wars, Iraq Wars & End Wars
A current understanding of God plan for our time
Seven Trumpets & Seven Wars
Countdown to the Tribulation
Click Chart for Full Size
Seven Periods of the Church Age
Revelation Outline: Spiral to the Second Coming
Armageddon: World War V
China: Red Army of World War III
Russia: Leader of World War IV